Netherlands Embassy in Pretoria, South Africa


Applying for a Schengen visa in Pretoria /Capetown and Durban
To allow us to help you as quickly and efficiently as possible, please note that applications for visas can only be submitted by appointment. Appointments are made via this website only.

You are strongly advised to schedule an appointment for your visa application at least three weeks before your intended date of departure.

All applicants must appear in person.  Applications can be submitted at the consular section of the Regional Service Organisation (RSO) in Pretoria or at the Dutch consulate in Cape Town or Durban. Applications submitted at a Dutch Consulate will be forwarded to the RSO in Pretoria for processing. The minimum processing time for visa applications submitted in Pretoria is two working days. For applications submitted at the Consulate General in Cape Town or the Honorary Consulates in Durban the processing time is more or less five working days. For certain nationalities an approval from the appropriate authorities is required and applications will therefore take approximately two weeks longer to process.

Make an appointment for a visa application in PRETORIA

Make an appointment for a visa application in CAPE TOWN

Make an appointment for a visa application in DURBAN

In the column on the right you can download an visa application form as well as the general Schengen visa requirements.


Implementation of biometrics

From June 6th, 2013 biometrics will be implemented for Schengenvisa. This implicates that all applicants need to apply in person.

Perons living in Namibia can submit their applications at the German Embassy in Windhoek. Persons living in Botswana can submit their applications at the French Embassy in Gaborone. From May 24th, 2013 it is no longer possible to apply for a visa at our Honorary Consulate in Maseru. Applicants living in Swaziland can apply in Durban or Pretoria

South African temporary passports

From 1 April 2007, the Benelux countries (Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg) do not longer accept South African temporary passports for travelling to the Netherlands, Belgium or Luxembourg. This means that no Schengen visa can be put in this kind of travel documents.

Visa fees

Visa fees can be paid by bank- or credit card only (with exception of American Express & Diners)  upon submitting of the application. For security reasons the Netherlands embassy in Pretoria and the Consulate-General in Capetown cannot accept cash payments. The fee will not be refunded if the visa is not granted or the application is withdrawn. The Consulate in Durban only accepts cash payments.

Visa fees are fixed in Euro. As from 1 January 2007, the Schengen visa handling fee will amount to € 60, but payable in South African Rand (to the administrative rate of exchange of the Embassy of the Kingdom of the Netherlands - the visa fees are therefore subject to change, without prior notice). Click here for price list

Collection hours

Collection of passports (with receipt only):

Monday to Thursday 10.00 - 12.00 hrs

Friday 10.00 - 11.00 hrs